Discworld

Organizing your collection

General Stamp discussion.

Organizing your collection

Postby SavMousehammer » Tue Feb 16, 2010 01:02 am

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this Flatelist lark (can't believe its taken me 6 years to find these stamps, I'm really miffed that it's taken me so long!)
and I was wondering how you all organised your collections?

At the moment my plan is to use a stockbook and have a page each for each year ( well this and last year anyway) then a page for each guild, country, 'one offs' etc with a printed label at the top of each page. This should work for the moment but as my collection grows I can forsee a few problems...

So i'm looking for any ideas you may have, do you keep each years definatives separate? do you keep the common, sport and any variations in colour etc together?
What about stamps with selvidge (the bit from around the outside of the sheet, right?), do you keep each different selvidge in your display collection or just one stamp?

I'm looking for a way to keep my whole collection - when it gets bigger than the starter pack and 2 LBE's worth! - in a a clear and orgnaised way for my son. He loves looking for the sports, they really fascinate him, but his Autism means that everything has to be organised, in a clear pattern, from the start. If I start chopping and changing the layout it will upset him and put him off.

I've thought about using a 'proper' stamp album, but the ones i have seen either have rectangular pockets for the stamps - how do you display tall stamps such as the Tower of art?, or are laid out like a stockbook but dont appear to have the tracing paper to protect the stamps.

Any opinions/experience/knoweledge/ideas you may have would be greatly appreciated.

By the way, aren't the Thieves Guild reciepts just fantastic? Mind you I wasn't impressed that a gold chain was taken from my order :x , I could have used that for Valentines Day! :lol:

Cheers
Sav