Discworld

Newcomer to Discworld stamps

General Stamp discussion.

Newcomer to Discworld stamps

Postby steveoftreaclemineroad » Mon Jul 14, 2014 02:20 pm

Hello to all Discworld (and other Multiverse location) residents!

I am new to the world of collecting Discworld stamps, with me first (but by no means last) purchases being the Going Postal 10th Anniversary LBE and special 1 penny Moist sheet. Having opened my LBE, I found I was the lucky winner of a special First Day Cover of Going Postal. In the process of claiming, I phoned the store and was helped by Ian. I had a very enjoyable and informative conversation with some great tips, including using this forum, to get my collecting off the ground.

As a budding Discworld philatelist, if anyone can give any advice or tips to help me out, or just general stamp-based chit-chat, I would love to hear from you, with all ideas and thoughts! :)

Hope to hear from some of you,
SteveOfTreacleMineRoad
SteveOfTreacleMineRoad
steveoftreaclemineroad

Re: Newcomer to Discworld stamps

Postby Murgatroyd » Mon Jul 14, 2014 05:43 pm

Welcome Steve!
Come on in! We're all sane adults here [tries to close door on sounds of hooting and gibbering], Nothing to be afraid of...
So you started with an LBE or several and a sheet of Moists? Way to go. :D
Enjoy the tidy, non intrusive, extremely inexpensive hobby of collecting Discworld stamps! Beloved of spouses and relatives everywhere! Fear not, it will be an interesting and instructive process filling up your albums with the back catalogue issues. Have fun!
I can only conclude that I'm paying off Karma at a vastly accelerated rate.
Susan Ivanova. Babylon 5
Murgatroyd

Postby Drayax » Mon Jul 14, 2014 05:44 pm

Hi Steve

Welcome to flately and well done on the FDC win, thats a great place to start :) I've not been long collecting myself (started around February) and I'm already about as hooked as it gets.